• Mail: info@quranweb.net
  • WhatsApp: +880 1519 393 190
  • +880 1519 393 190

Zakah زكوة

What is Zakah?

Zakah or Zakat is one of the five pillars of Islam. This means that Zakat is mandatory for Muslims, along with the other four sacred pillars of Islam. For every sane, adult Muslim who owns wealth over a certain amount – known as the Nisab نصاب – he or she must pay 2.5% of that wealth as Zakat.

Eligible Muslims pay Zakat once a year, and it is due as soon as one lunar (Islamic) year has passed since meeting or exceeding the Nisab (certain amount of wealth). The Zakat of every Muslim is then distributed to those who meet the criteria to receive it.

What is Nisab نصاب ?

The Nisab is the minimum amount of wealth a Muslim must possess before they become liable to pay Zakat. This amount is often referred to as the Nisab threshold.

Gold and silver are the two values used to calculate the Nisab threshold. The Nisab is the value of 87.48 grams of gold or 612.36 grams of silver.

A sacred pillar of Islam

Zakat is not just a fundamental pillar of Islam, it is also a revolutionary concept which can end extreme poverty – that is the power of Zakat!

وَأَقِيمُوا الصَّلَاةَ وَآتُوا الزَّكَاةَ ۚ وَمَا تُقَدِّمُوا لِأَنفُسِكُم مِّنْ خَيْرٍ تَجِدُوهُ عِندَ اللَّهِ

And be steadfast in prayer and regular in charity: And whatever good ye send forth for your souls before you.

Surah Al-Baqara, Ayah 210)

وَالَّذِينَ فِي أَمْوَالِهِمْ حَقٌّ مَّعْلُومٌ . لِّلسَّائِلِ وَالْمَحْرُومِ    

And those in whose wealth is a recognized right. For the (needy) who asks and him who is prevented (for some reason from asking);

Surah Al-Ma’arij, Ayah 24-25

How much is Zakat?

Zakat should amount to 2.5% of total Zakat eligible wealth. Therefore, if total assets (after any debts owed) amounted to £10,000, you would pay £250.

What happens if you don’t pay Zakat?

There are serious consequences for not paying it if you are eligible to do so. As well as facing punishment at the day of judgement, withholding Zakat can also lead to a lack of barakah بركة (blessings) in your wealth and life.

The severity of not paying Zakat is mentioned many times in the Quran and Hadith. For example:

وَالَّذِينَ يَكْنِزُونَ الذَّهَبَ وَالْفِضَّةَ وَلَا يُنفِقُونَهَا فِي سَبِيلِ اللَّهِ فَبَشِّرْهُم بِعَذَابٍ أَلِيمٍ. يَوْمَ يُحْمَىٰ عَلَيْهَا فِي نَارِ جَهَنَّمَ فَتُكْوَىٰ بِهَا جِبَاهُهُمْ وَجُنُوبُهُمْ وَظُهُورُهُمْ ۖ هَـٰذَا مَا كَنَزْتُمْ لِأَنفُسِكُمْ فَذُوقُوا مَا كُنتُمْ تَكْنِزُونَ

And there are those who bury gold and silver and spend it not in the way of Allah. announce unto them a most grievous penalty. On the Day when heat will be produced out of that (wealth) in the fire of Hell, and with it will be branded their foreheads, their flanks, and their backs, their flanks, and their backs.- “This is the (treasure) which ye buried for yourselves: taste ye, then, the (treasures) ye buried!”.

Surah At-Taubah Ayah 34,35)

مَنْ آتَاهُ اللهُ مَالًا فَلَمْ يُؤَدِّ زَكَاتَهُ مُثِّلَ لَهُ مَالُهُ شُجَاعًا أَقْرَعَ لَهُ زَبِيبَتَانِ يُطَوَّقُهُ يَوْمَ الْقِيَامَةِ يَأْخُذُ بِلِهْزِمَتَيْهِ يَعَني بِشِدْقَيْهِ يَقُولُ أَنَا مَالُكَ أَنَا كَنْزُكَ

“Whoever is made wealthy by Allah and does not pay the Zakat of his wealth, then on the Day of Resurrection his wealth will be made like a bald-headed poisonous male snake with two black spots over the eyes. The snake will encircle his neck and bite his cheeks and say, ‘I am your wealth, I am your treasure.”

Bukhari, 1403

Who are the 8 recipients of Zakat?

There are eight categories of people who are eligible to receive Zakat, these are which mentioned in Ayah of the Quran:

إِنَّمَا الصَّدَقَاتُ لِلْفُقَرَاءِ وَالْمَسَاكِينِ وَالْعَامِلِينَ عَلَيْهَا وَالْمُؤَلَّفَةِ قُلُوبُهُمْ وَفِي الرِّقَابِ وَالْغَارِمِينَ وَفِي سَبِيلِ اللَّهِ وَابْنِ السَّبِيلِ ۖ فَرِيضَةً مِّنَ اللَّهِ ۗ وَاللَّهُ عَلِيمٌ حَكِيمٌ .

Alms are for the poor and the needy, and those employed to administer the (funds); for those whose hearts have been (recently) reconciled (to Truth); for those in bondage and in debt; in the cause of Allah. and for the wayfarer: (thus is it) ordained by Allah, and Allah is full of knowledge and wisdom.

Surah At-Taubah, Ayah 60

Who is not eligible for receiving Zakat?

Zakat must be paid and received by Muslims. Therefore, unlike Sadaqah, non-Muslims cannot receive Zakat donations. Those who are wealthy cannot receive Zakat.

The family of the Prophet Muhammad (Ahlul Bayt descendants from Banu Hashim and Banu Muttalib) are not allowed to receive Zakat or Sadaqah donations.