• Mail: info@quranweb.net
  • WhatsApp: +880 1519 393 190
  • +880 1519 393 190

Salah صلاة

What is Salah صلاة (salat)?

Salah (salat) is the Arabic term for the ritual prayer that is obligatory for Muslims to perform five times a day. It is second pillar of Islam.

Daily five time salah are:

  • Fajr فجر – This takes place at pre-dawn
  • Dhuhr فجر – This takes place just after the sun reaches its zenith
  • Asrعصر   – This takes place between noon and sunset
  • Maghrib مغرب – This takes place just after sunset
  • Isha عشاء – This takes place during the night/at night-time

Performing Salah on time is mandatory as mentioned in the holy Quran:

إِنَّ الصَّلَاةَ كَانَتْ عَلَى الْمُؤْمِنِينَ كِتَابًا مَّوْقُوتًا

“Regular Prayers For such prayers are enjoined on believers at stated times.”

Surah An-Nisaa -Ayah 103

Aside from the five obligatory prayers, Muslims may offer Sunnah and Nafl Salah.

The Sunnah Salah سنة صلاة (prayers) are ones in which the Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) used to habitually offer as voluntary worship at specified times and places.

Nafl Salahنفل صلاة   are voluntary prayers that a Muslim may offer at any time as a form of extra Ibadah (worship).

Why is Salah important?

Salah is an integral part of the lifestyle of the Muslim. Through salah, Muslims are required each day to ponder on the ayah of the Quran, the Shahadah (the declaration of faith), and Allah’s attributes.

Muslims across the world unite in prayer at five specified times each day in the direction of the Kaaba كعبة in Mecca مكة, as a means of connecting to Allah and their purpose in life – to remember and worship Him.